The Books Which Stayed With Me!

I started reading books when I was eight. My mother made sure that I developed the habit of reading at a tender age because she believed it’s going to help me a lot when I grow up. And obviously, she was right.

When I was nominated for “The Book Bucket Challenge” , I listed the top ten books which stayed with me forever. (The Challenge was started on Facebook a few months ago, where everybody was asked to list ten books that influenced them the most.)

Ten is really small number, especially, for someone who started reading from such a small age. But these were the top ten books which influenced me a lot (in no particular order) :

1. Jane Eyre : Charlotte Bronte
2. Da Vinci Code and Inferno : Dan Brown
3. A Thousand Splendid Suns : Khaled Hossieni
4. Pride and Prejudice : Jane Austen
5. The Rozabal Line : Ashwin Sanghi
6. Harry Potter Series : JK Rowling
7. Percy Jackson Series : Rick Riordan
8. Kane and Abel : Jeffrey Archer
9. Life of Pi : Yann Martel
10. The Perks of Being a Wallflower : Stephen Chbosky

Classics are the genre I started only a few months ago, but I love it. When I started reading Jane Eyre, I was bored. Initally I was engrossed in it, but in between, I was so bored, I almost gave up reading it. But determined as I was, I completed it. And when I completed it, I found myself being strongly attracted to this character. She is the greatest heroines ever created, and I believe every woman should relate to Jane Eyre at some point of their lives. And then there is Pride and Prejudice and Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen. Jane Austen will make you fall in love with her characters. Whether it is Mr. Darcy or Edward Ferrars, Jane Austen is queen.

I’m a big fan of Thriller, mystery, suspense and likewise. Hence Dan Brown and Jeffrey Archer books need to be there on my list. As I mentioned it earlier, ten is a really small number. I would have easily included all of their books. I have read all of their books. But Inferno and Da Vinci Code and Kane and Abel of Dan Brown and Jeffrey Archer, respectively, are the best. Talking of mystery, I included Ashwin Sanghi, Indian counterpart of Dan Brown in the list. Those of you who haven’t read it, go and pick up one of his books.

FANTASY! Who doesn’t love it? I started with Harry Potter, and ended up loving it (ob-viously!). It literally changed my life. Then come Percy Jackson Series which is all Greek and Roman mythology. In fantasy, I loved The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins and Divergent series by Veronica Roth, and I would have included it, but again space constraint.

Now and then, I love reading books which gives you a deeper meaning of life. A Thousand Splendid Suns, The Kite Runner and And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini, Life of Pi by Yann Martel and The Perks of Being a Wallflower are some of them.

Obviously the list doesn’t end here. There are others, and you can find them in my Goodreads account.  And suggestions are always welcome. I love discovering new books. So comment below your book suggestions.

Thank You for reading.

Have a good day 🙂

3 thoughts on “The Books Which Stayed With Me!

Have something to say? Say it, then!

