The Golden Key

You’ve been given a key that can open one building, room, locker, or box to which you don’t normally have access. How do you use it, and why?

WARNING : FICTITIOUS CONTENT AHEAD.

When I look at today’s Daily Prompt , I wonder what is it like to have something,that normally you wouldn’t even consider having. So our life puts a lot of restrictions on us, depending on our situations. Some are good, some are bad. Some are silly, some are important. When we look at these restrictions, we are tempted to break free of them and enjoy the freedom. As we grow up, these restrictions are automatically removed and we explore new things. We start to live our life more freely. But what about those restrictions which we don’t ever get to access to? Like knowing our future, or going back into the past and correcting ourselves? I mean if any of us had a golden key to open them, would we use it?

A golden key that would open anything that you don’t normally have access to. Sounds interesting. I mean, what if there is a box and It contains a book which tells you about your future. Would I open it? Sure, it’s tempting. But I won’t open it. Because life without a little mystery is not worth living. Similarly, if a golden key opens a locker and it takes you to all those incidents where you experience embarrassment and humiliation and torture, I would definitely not open it. Because I don’t want to spend the best parts of my life being paranoid about the worst parts.

But, on the other hand, if that golden key opens to a room that takes me to the wonderful world of Narnia, or witchcraft, I wouldn’t say no. I mean, who doesn’t want a break from the reality? Or if that key somehow gives me an ability to change terrible mistake, I would gladly take it. Here, I would like to mention that, I’m talking about those mistakes which DID NOT teach me any lesson. It just remained a mistake. Because there are some mistakes which teaches you a lesson and that mistake is no longer a mistake.

These imaginary golden keys are important. It helps you live the real life. It teaches you the importance of everything. Honestly, I have used many imaginary golden keys to escape the real life. These golden keys take different form according to the situations. For example, sometimes it becomes my favourite book and transports me to a whole different world. Sometimes it is some music which gives you peace of mind and helps you to be on the right track.

Hold on to your golden key and use it only if required.

2 thoughts on “The Golden Key

Have something to say? Say it, then!

