Book Review Day – March 2015

“…writers are a savage breed, Mr. Strike. If you want life-long friendship and selfless camaraderie, join the army and learn to kill. If you want a lifetime of temporary alliances with peers who will glory in your every failure, write novels.”

Have you read “The Silkworm” yet?

I’ve always been a fan of JK Rowling because of the Harry Potter series. They are the reason, I started reading, in the first place. And, I love suspense, mystery thrilling experiences, preferably with a detective element. When all of the above got together, Robert Galbraith was born. And his stories.

Last week I completed The Silkworm. It will keep you on the edge, throughout. Not only it is full of suspense and thrilling, it speaks largely of life too. Like,

“We don’t love each other; we love the idea we have of each other. Very few humans understand this or can bear to contemplate it. They have blind faith in their own powers of creation. All love, ultimately, is self-love.”

When I read the first book in the Cormoran Strike novels “The Cuckoo’s Calling”, I knew I could trust Robert Galbraith and his novels. But I read The silkworm, I knew this is what I was looking for in a detective novel. Not that I don’t like Sherlock Holmes and Hercule Poirot, but Cormoran Strike is a modern detective which makes the story more relatable.

Leonora Quine comes to Cormoran Strike to help her bring her writer husband, Owen Quine back, who apparently, often runs from his home and lives in a hotel for a day or two to concentrate on his novel. As Cormoran tries to find out where the writer has run off, Owen Quine’s dead body is discovered in circumstances similar to his last book. The book, in question, has described a lot of people in a very bad light, and the number of people who want to kill Owen Quine is very large. The way in, Robert Galbraith presents the novel is amazing, with twists and turns at every point of the novel.

Since, it is a detective novel, I wouldn’t reveal much. If you have a knack for edgy, exciting and electrifying novels, this is the one for you.

My Rating : 10/10

Have something to say? Say it, then!

