I Walk The Line

Have you got a code you live by? What are the principles or set of values you actively apply in your life?

When I talk to people who are well-settled in their lives or are at some important positions, the one thing I get from them is that they have a specific set of rules by which they live. They have laid down a certain principles on which their lives will be based and that’s how they are in that position in their lives. But, when I observe the lives of some important people which the world loves, they never had rules. They only had one motto: to do what they love. And, I can’t blame them; that is the best advice I will ever get from anybody.

If I have any code in my life, it’s very simple; listen to your voice.

As I live through every day among millions of new faces, I realize, everybody is trying to win. They will do anything and everything to win their race, no matter how unethical it might be. So, when people try to give you advice, they might have a good heart, but they may not always be wanting you to do better. The sad part is, nobody is at fault here. This is a competitive world and sadly, everyone needs to prove that they are worth the competition. The only solution I see sometimes, is listening to ourselves.

In this world, there is no better judge of us than ourselves. Only, we know what is best for us, and even when we make mistakes, we blame ourselves and eventually learn from them. When people become too much dependent on others for judgement, they never get to learn.

When I have a problem, I try to ask these questions to myself about various solutions: what can I do? will I be able to do? If my answer is positive, I talk to my parents and close friends and if they agree with me, I proceed with the solution. Even though it sounds simple, experience tells me that it is the most difficult task ever. But the good part is, we learn a lot and we are always happy and satisfied.

“Instinct is a marvelous thing. It can neither be explained nor ignored.”
― Agatha Christie

I’ve always believed in instincts. But instincts are always better you work it out with introspection. When we have an instinct, we need to make sure that every sign in this universe point towards that instinct. I always try to do this, so that I don’t end up wrong and then blaming myself for everything.

Routines and principles are great. And I’ll never say, give up those rules. But if you don’t have spontaneity in life, you merely exist in this world without making a mark, without leaving a proof about your existence.


Daily Prompt : I Walk the Line

2 thoughts on “I Walk The Line”

Have something to say? Say it, then!

