Pleasures, Imaginations and Anticipation

I am a dreamer. I dream about my life all the time; sometimes they are big dreams (I won’t reveal it here) and sometimes they are small (getting my own apartment), some are very important (settling into a very beautiful and stable life before getting married), while some are very silly (ordering food without looking at the price). Maybe, some day, I will talk about my very important dreams. But today, I want to talk about my silly dreams.

I found a word for it – vorfreude. It means joyful, intense anticipation that comes from imagining future pleasures. There are some key words, if you notice – anticipation, imagining and pleasures. Let’s look at them one by one.

  • Pleasures – My dreams are made up of all the good things that should happen to me. Life gives you enough woes to worry about, but dreams are my happy place. When things are not going too well for me, I lie down, close my eyes and imagine the small and silly dreams I have for my future. I instantly feel happy and positive. This might sound over-fetched or impossible, but it works for me, every time.
  • Imagining – I believe that imaginations are a beautiful phenomenon. I feel bad for those who do not have a crazy imagination. The truth is, dreams are imaginations made to become a reality. I have these crazy imaginations of the life I want to lead, and my dreams are fashioned out these imaginations. I think the silliest yet the most colourful dreams are created out of our imaginations.
  • Anticipation – People often confuse anticipation with anxiety. They think anticipation is a negative thing. The truth is, anticipation is the reason we are alive. I have a strong belief that people are alive because they look forward to various events and moments in life, and they want to live them. Anticipation is, in fact, the most beautiful thing. It makes you wanna live, it makes you want to grow. Dreams are anticipation on a much larger scale. So, anticipate and anticipate.

I’ve written much on my dreams, and how dreams make who I am. I am a hopeless dreamer, and if you ate not convinced enough, here is solid evidence: my blog is called “Weird and Wonderful – Story of a Dreamer”.  

You can check these blog posts here.

In response to Anticipation.

Have something to say? Say it, then!

